Monday, December 31, 2012

Boise State to remain a MW member

Today, Boise State and the Mountain West made official what had been rumored for the past several weeks.

The Broncos will no longer leave the conference on July 1, 2013, as they'd originally intended.  Boise State was set to depart the Mountain West to join the Big East in football and the Big West in nearly every other sport, including softball.

With the Big East basically on life support after numerous defections, the announcement came today that Boise State will remain a Mountain West member in all sports.

In softball, this means the 2014 Mountain West season will consist of eight teams:  Boise State, Colorado State, Fresno State, Nevada, New Mexico, San Jose State, Utah State and UNLV.